I Had to Say Good-Bye to My Subaru

 

Enjoying Baby Blue in the Sun

“Love. It’s what makes a Subaru, a Subaru.”

I doubted that statement. As I looked outside at my 1995 Subaru Legacy LS, I didn’t think too much about it. Perhaps, I thought I was going to have her forever.

So I thought.

I met my 1995 Subaru in 2002. I was a sophomore at Moon Area in Pittsburgh, PA. It was in the afternoon, and my mom called me into the basement to talk.

Ugh, a talk? What is it this time, I thought. I hated being cornered “to talk.”

I went downstairs, and my mom and I began to talk. About nothing. My mom seemed distracted, struggling to come up with something to talk about. I thought it was odd, but didn’t think too much else about it. Then the door opened and I heard my dad’s voice bellow from upstairs. My mom and I proceeded upstairs, and outside, where my dad was. behind his car, was a strange, blue sedan in the driveway.

“Is this one of your friend’s cars?” my dad asked me.

“No, never seen it.” I replied, puzzled.

“Oh,” Dad said, “then I guess it’s yours,” and tosses me the key.

My Subaru was a gift, a surprise shortly after I turned sixteen.

Immediately, our relationship started to form. I got my driving license in my Subaru. Bertha.

Baby Blue Bertha. Also, affectionately known as “the Tank.” It’s cool though, I like my girls tough.

I believe me, that toughness was tested. Multiple times.

In one of my first drives out I was leaving Wings, Suds, and Spuds (a wing place in Moon) and I had a car-full of girls. Naturally, my attention was elsewhere. I was backing down the steep driveway, and heard a RIIIP! But the kept going. It certainly didn’t sound good, but with a car full of ladies, I wasn’t going to be too worried. That’s until we got to the coffeehouse and one of the girls, Natalie, looked and said “Oh my God, Dwayne…that sound was definitely your car.”

Baby Blue had the front bumper ripped off. I’m sorry baby.

During one Fourth of July, same year I believe, we were leaving the park, and a lady in a SUV full of kids side-swiped Bertha. Didn’t even see us.

That bitch just hit Bertha! Aw hell no.

Incidents continued. Nothing major. A speeding ticket here, turn signal violation there, but one thing was constant:

I took care of her, and Tank took care of me.

Junior year of high school, I won Prom King. We all went to Prom in a stretch Hummer Limo. How did I leave prom? With my prom date, in my Subaru.

The summer that followed, I was invited to grad parties, house parties, and everything in-between. And I went in Blue Bertha.

It was good to be the King.

Then, in 2004, I left for Elon University. And I left Baby Blue in PA. That was a tough year.

No one leaves Baby Blue in PA.

But then, sophomore year, I brought it down to NC. Life was good.

Life was great, actually. Where didn’t my Subaru and I go? All around NC, New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Tennessee, South Carolina, Florida, Georgia, Virginia.

After school, I met the love of my life. Mackenzie and I, during our first year, traveled a lot.

And we traveled in my Subaru.

Sometimes I wondered what my Subaru liked. Now, I think she was a woman’s woman. You see, I am a big fan of curves. They’re sexy. And I think my Subaru did too. Bertha would hug curves so tight, it would make me jealous.

You’re with me Bertha, let’s calm down.

But just last week, The Tank met it’s match. Totaled. I totaled my Subaru. But was anybody harmed? Of course not.

“I took care of her, and she took care of me.”

So this is just a thank you to Baby Blue Bertha, my Tank. As I was at the body shop, looking at Bertha- windshield broken, rear view mirror cracked, air bags hanging out like intestines- it was tough to look at. I lost you 70,000 miles too early. But the memories you gave me are worth it.

Love, it’s what makes a Subaru, a Subaru.

Love, it’s what makes a Subaru, MY Subaru. Thanks Bertha!


2 thoughts on “I Had to Say Good-Bye to My Subaru

  1. : ( I love you.. I am glad that neither of us were hurt but sad to see the tank go. She got you to Pittsburgh safely to see me for the last two years..we couldnt have done it without her.

  2. The tank will be missed but she was old and sickly. I believe her organs will be donated to make other subarus healthy.

Leave a Reply

