Two Reasons Why I’m Excited About Charlotte’s Marketing Industry

If you follow my blog, or my tweets, or have talked with me in person, then you are well aware of my criticism for the marketing industry in Charlotte. I’ve called it bland, boring, old-school, cliquish, and uncooperative.

And though I still believe some of those things, I am quite optimistic for it. Why?

1. The ideal vision of marketing and advertising still resonates.

Marketing and advertising is the way business communicates. Period. Include social media, and brands now can communicate with their loyalists and inquisitors on a very intimate level. But what is the goal for marketing and advertising? To create awareness? Improve the bottom line? To put you above your competitors? In short, those are possible answers, but not the answer most (I hope) marketing and Adpeople would give.

The goal is to start or influence an idea or movement that takes hold in a society that a brand or organization can represent.

Heavy stuff, right? Good, because it should be.

If  a brand is able to do that, then the awareness, bottom line, and positioning are all wonderful byproducts.

2. Collaboration is here in Charlotte, just with the right people

“The Age of Collaboration is here”…meaning that it got popular enough to cover it. It’s true, though. Small and medium sized agencies don’t want to hire, to build huge staffs only for the economy to bottom out “unexpectedly” and have to shrink its staff. Collaborating with other shops on a retainer or project basis is more flexible, and you may get better work out of it. The model isn’t a new one; just a holding company with a twist. I just didn’t think Charlotte had the environment.

I was wrong. Woohoo!

Meeting more marketing and adfolks in  Charlotte, I am seeing a collaborative spirit in many of them. Perhaps, early on, I was simply hanging around with the wrong crowd. This crowd however, I like. I like a lot.

So overall, like I’ve said before, Charlotte has a ton of potential. It’ll just take this collaborative, creative crowd time to help Charlotte discover a new, likable persona. But hey, with this crowd, I’m willing to wait it out.

Leave a Reply

