“Black People Should Enterprise…”

Thank you, Kanye West.

From my previous post, I alluded that my old high school classmate and great friend and I are starting our own marketing agency. From watching my father start his own business (he had a software development consulting firm…nerd) I figured that it wouldn’t be that difficult-since I KNEW of some of the hardships he had to endure. Ha, boy was I wrong.

From all the paperwork, to developing our own business plans and establishing our identity, it has been quite the journey. But so far, I am having a blast doing it.

What is also pretty cool is that DW4R is joining that still small segment of minority owned businesses (or as North Carolina calls it- Historically Under-utilized Businesses).

Why can’t the media-or society for that matter- focus on the positive aspects of our culture? Instead of glorifying the thugs, baggy clothes and the raping of the English language, place emphasis on those African-Americans, Latinos, Physically-disabled and other groups that are assisting in America’s progress.

This is a very sensitive subject of mine. My three siblings and I have been raised to speak and write well, and dress appriopriately in public. When we all went to school, we were respectful, and make good grades. Ah wait a second, we were all black- surely we were the ones confused about our placement in society.

Then there was my dear father, a black man with a brilliant software product, and the Good Ol’ Boys in Pittsburgh, PA didn’t feel like giving a small, black-owned software firm the light of day. I guess we all forgot that opportunity came with a certain hue. Fortunately he moved to Columbus, OH (I know..Ohio of all places) and was given the respect he deserved.

Well I’m rambling, but my point is this: I am sick and tired of people calling me and my family as the “whitest black people they know.” I am so thankful that I was raised not to be a violent man. Instead, I focus my energy to show that I am not only an ambitious and smart black man, but an ambitious and smart man.  President Obama took the lamp and turned it on, and it is our job to come out of the shadow and share the light.

 

5 thoughts on ““Black People Should Enterprise…”

  1. Interesting. It seems as if your frustration is the same as mines. In defense of the baggy clothes wearing thugs who rape the English language, I would like to point out the fact that you had your pops around to teach you how to assist in America’s progress. The majority of them did not have anyone but their mother who worked 2-3 jobs.
    I’m pointing this out because it took a rude awakening for me to understand. Sadly, not everyone is lucky enough to be raised in a two parent home. I am not saying that all products of single parent homes turnout this way, but it does affect the majority.

    • Valid point. I have been very fortunate to learn from both my mother and father. And, through the post, you can see how intimate my relationship is with my old man. Though our relationship is becoming rare in this society, I do still find it disheartening that the watchdogs of the world do not deem situations like that newsworthy. No one glorifies the father who stays with the children, but people are quick to condemn the man that leaves them. That’s a big problem in my eyes, but I can definitely see where you are coming from. Thank you for the comment!

  2. Hi Dwayne and Kion,

    You both make very valid points.

    As a business owner I understand the pain, process and promise that being a business owner provides. It’s a lot of work and to whom much is given much is required, but wow, it’s a lot of effort to work full time and run a full time business on part time hours. Hang in there and keep reaching for a better life for yourself.

    As far as the other comment regarding “whitest black people”, those who told you that are sadly misguided. Why is it that when a black person speaks proper English, they are called out as white. Are white people the only ones who, even in 2009, have a proper education or even choose to speak something other than slang? Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for slang and speak it on a regular occasion, but there is a time and a place for everything. My regular speaks consists of slang and proper English, but as a business women, I can’t enter a meeting with the “You what it is?”. I can be sure to tell you that that person I’m meeting with may not invite me back to that meeting.

    Also, regarding the father comment, I too was one of those without a father in my life and I did not realize the dramatic effects it had on me until I reached adulthood. However, I’m proud to say that my dad is helpful and present in my life and I’m proud of him for that. My fiancé also has children and I see how he makes it a point to be in his children’s lives. You’re right, no one gives the good dads credit. But I salute those men who do – it really makes a difference in your child’s lives and they have the opportunity to be better people because of you!

  3. I concur. Why would anyone make fun of anybody trying to better themselves for any reason? Answer: complete ignorance. Vernacular is the one true indicator of one’s educational and professional progress. Here here for all the african american “nerds” out there.

  4. Your post is quite interesting Dwaine and you raise several valid points. Coming from an HBCU perspective, we had several different “flavors” of Black (people) running rampant around the campus, trying to create a name for themselves or becoming a statistic of some sort. I always come across someone looking at my accomplishments and activities on campus who wonders if I grew up in the land of suburbia.

    Well – I didn’t. In fact, most of my years were spent either in the ghetto or some urban community. It wasn’t until my 8th grade that I became secure and nestled in the suburban environment. Even then, blacks have often looked at me as someone who is “upitty,” an “elitist” or bourgeoisie. Your desire and constant pursuit for success, coupled with confidence, will always cause your “bretheren” to look at you this way. Pay it no mind.

    Either these people will befriend you and see you for who you really are, or they won’t matter much (if at all) in the schema of things that go on in your life. All you can do is be you, avoid being a statistic or stereotype and remain vigilant at being a productive member of the black community – and give back. As you put it Dwaine, Blacks need to “come out of the shadow and share the light.”

Leave a Reply

